artwork with formulas in the atrium of IFW


Organization

The IFW is a non-profit research institute in the legal form of a registered association. The purpose of the association is fundamental and applied research in the fields of solid state and materials research as well as the training of young scientists and staff. The IFW’s statutory organs are the Executive Board, the Board of Trustees, the Scientific Advisory Board and the General Meeting. The IFW is organized in five Institutes, the department for Research Technology and the Administration department.

Executive Board

The IFW is led by an Executive Board consisting of the Scientific Director and the Administrative Director who are in charge of IFW as a whole. They report to the Board of trustees and are adviced  by the Scientific Advisory Board. Internally they are adviceed by the Board of Directors .

Scientific Director

Administrative Director

IFW Institutes

The scientific work of the IFW is organisationally structured into five IFW institutes, each headed by an institute director that is jointly appointed as full professor at Technische Universität Dresden or Technische Universität Chemnitz. Research teams of all five IFW institute work together in the joint IFW research program.

Departments

Research Technology Department

Head: Prof. Dr. Dirk Lindackers
+49 (0) 351 4659 580
d.lindackers@ifw-dresden.de

The research technology department has cross-sectional character. It supports the IFW institutes with the realization of unique research facility and equipment in cases where such equipment is not commercially available. Usually, oue scientific experiments require equipment that ensures the highest precision in movements and measurements in extreme temperature and pressure conditions. Additionally, the research technology department runs the IT infrastructure of IFW.

Department Administration

Head: Friederike Jaeger
+49 (0) 351 4659 621
 f.jaeger@ifw-dresden.de

The administration department of IFW includes

  • Finances
  • Human Resources
  • Facility Management
  • Purchasing, supply and disposal

In addition, the IFW library is assigned to the administration department.

Staff units

Assistant to the Scientific Director & Public Relations

Dr. Carola Langer
+49 (0) 351 4659 234
c.langer@ifw-dresden.de

Research Funding

Carsten Glück
+49 (0) 351 4659 153
research.funding@ifw-dresden.de

Technology Transfer

Dr. Uwe Siegel
+49 (0) 351 4659 424
technologietransfer@ifw-dresden.de

Controlling

Dirk Rehn
+49 (0) 4659 889
d.rehn@ifw-dresden.de

Internal Revision

Stefan Leipnitz
+49 (0) 4659 876
s.leipnitz@ifw-dresden.de

Safty Officer

Uwe Schmiel
+49 (0) 4659 359
u.schmiel@ifw-dresden.de

Internal bodies & representatives

Labor council

Head: Mario Bloeck
betriebsrat@ifw-dresden.de

Scientific-technical council

Head: Dr. Manuel Richter
m.richter@ifw-dresden.de

Ombudsperson for good scientific practice

Prof. Dr. Rudolf Schäfer
r.schaefer@ifw-dresden.de

Equal opportunities commissioner

Dr. Anke Kirchner
a.kirchner@ifw-dresden.de

Severely disabled representative

Dr. Hartmut Siegel
h.siegel@ifw-dresden.de

Data protection commissioner

Kristin Beyer
k.beyer@dids.de
datenschutzbeauftragter@ifw-dresden.de