Honours and Prices

1986Masing Memorial Award of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Materialkunde (DGM)
2004Dresden Congress Award 2004 (class: over 1001 participants) for DPG Solid State Physics Spring Meeting, Dresden, March 2003
2005ISMANAM Senior Scientist Award 2005
2006Heyn-Denkmünze of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Materialkunde
2006Wissenschaftspreis des Stifterverbandes für die deutsche Wissenschaft
2009European Materials Medal (Federation of European Materials Societies (FEMS))
2010Fellow Professor, University of Ulsan, Korea
2010Thornton Medal (incl. Clerk Maxwell Award), The Institute of Materials, Minerals & Mining (IOM3)
2010„Ehrennadel“ of the German Physical Society (DPG)
2015Honorary Member of the German Association for Materials Science (DGM)
2015IEEE Magnetics Society Distinguished Lecturer 2015