event photo with many people in the atrium of IFW


Mariana Medina Sánchez

Name Medina Sanchez, Dr. Mariana
Department Institute for Integrative Nanosciences - IFW Dresden
Position Group Leader of Micro- and Nanobiomedical Engineering Group

Micro- and Nanobiomedical Engineering Group

CURRENT MEMBERS      
NAME ROLE NATIONALITY MAIL
Prof. Dr. Oliver G. Schmidt Institute director German o.schmidt@ifw-dresden.de
Dr. Mariana Medina-Sánchez Group leader Colombian m.medina.sanchez@ifw-dresden.de
Dr. Alexandr Egunov Postdoc (co-supervised) Russian a.egunov@ifw-dresden.de
Dr. Raphael Doineau Postdoc French r.doineau@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Lukas Schwarz PhD student German l.schwarz@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Haifeng Xu PhD student Chinese h.xu@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Azaam Aziz PhD student Pakistani a.aziz@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Raffael Herzer PhD student German r.herzer@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Friedrich Striggow PhD student German f.striggow@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Boris Rivkin PhD student (co-supervised) Russian b.rivkin@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Farzin Akbar PhD student (co-supervised) Iranian f.akbar@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Fabian Mehner Undergrad stud. German f.mehner@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Paul Wrede Undergrad stud. German p.wrede@ifw-dresden.de
Ms. Franziska Hebenstreit Technician German f.hebenstreit@ifw-dresden.de
Ms. Nicole Huste Technician German n.huste@ifw-dresden.de
       
VISITORS      
Pelin Isgor Master student Turkish Ankara University
Vivian Wang Undergrad stud. American Cambridge University
       
ALUMNI      
Dr. Maria Guix Postdoc Catalan Purdue University
Dr. Veronika Magdanz Postdoc German TU Dresden
Sonja Weiz PhD student German  
Lukas Niese Undergrad stud. German TU Dresden

Recent News

2018.04 "Swimming Microrobots: Soft, Reconfigurable, and Smart" is just accepted by Advanced Functional Materials Journal. Many congratulations to all the authors! 

2018.03 "Micro- and nanomotors: the new generation of drug carriers" is just accepted by Therapeutic Delivery Journal. Many congratulations to all the authors!

2018.01 "Self-Propelled Micro/Nanoparticle Motors" is just accepted by Particle & Particle Systems Characterization. Many congratulations to Maria, Sonja and co-workers!

2017.12 "Microsystems for Single-Cell Analysis" is just accepted by Advanced Biosystems. Many congratulations to Sonja and co-workers!

2017.12 "Sperm-Hybrid Micromotor for Targeted Drug Delivery" is just accepted by ACS Nano. Many congratulations to Haifeng and co-workers!

2017.09 "Best Presentation Award" - Single-cell analysis with rolled-up tomography devices (NanoBiosensors Conference). Authors: Sonja M. Weiz, Mariana Medina-Sánchez, Kyounghun Lee and O.G. Schmidt

2017.08 "Best Poster Award" - Sperm-hybrid Micromotors for Targeted Drug Delivery (International Conference on Micro/Nanomachines). Authors: Haifeng Xu, Mariana Medina-Sánchez, Veronika Magdanz, Lukas Schwarz, Franziska Hebenstreit and O.G. Schmidt

2017.07 "Best Poster Award" - Spermbots: Concept and Applications (6th International Conference on Biomimetic and Biohybrid Systems). Authors: Mariana Medina-Sánchez, Veronika Magdanz, Lukas Schwarz, Haifeng Xu, and O.G. Schmidt

2017.07 "Hybrid BioMicromotors" is just accepted by Applied Physics Reviews. Many congratulations to Lukas and co-workers!

2017.06 "Autonomously propelled microscavengers for precious metal recovery" is just accepted by Chemical Communications. Many congratulations to Sarvesh and co-workers!

2017.03 "Spermatozoa as Functional Components of Robotic Microswimmers" is just accepted by Advanced Materials. Many congratulations to Veronika and co-workers!

2016.09 "Best Paper Award" - Biosensor in a Tube: Ultrasensitive DNA detection (9th International Workshop on Impedance Spectroscopy). Authors: Mariana Medina-Sánchez, Bergoi Ibarlucea, Nicolás Pérez, Dmitriy D. Karnaushenko, Sonja M. Weiz, Larysa Baraban, Gianaurelio Cuniberti and O.G. Schmidt

2016.07 "Best Conference Paper Award" - Rapid 3D printing of complex polymeric tubular catalytic micromotors (MARSS Conference). Authors: Mariana Medina-Sánchez, M. Guix, S. Harazim, L. Schwarz, and O.G. Schmidt

2016.07 "Best Student Paper Award" - Electrical Impedance Tomography in On-Chip Integrated microtubular Fluidic Channels (18th International Conference on Biomedical Applications of Electrical Impedance Tomography). Authors: Sonja M. Weiz, Mariana Medina-Sánchez, Kyounghun Lee and O.G. Schmidt

  


Invited Talks

2019 - M. Medina Sanchez
Exploiting Sperm Power in Biomedicine
Heraeus Seminar on “Physics and Physiology of Motile Cilia”, Bad Honnef/ Germany, 27.-30.1.19
Bad Honnef | Germany | 27.01.2019 - 30.01.2019

2018 - M. Medina Sanchez
Medical microbots: Challenges and opportunities
Japanese-German Frontiers of Science Symposium, Kyoto/ Japan, 4.-7.9.18

2018 - M. Medina Sanchez
Micro- and Nanotechnologies for on- and off-chip biomedical applications
Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Barcelona/ Spain, 14.12.18
Barcelona | Spain | 14.12.2018 - 14.12.2018