line
Department:
Position:Group Leader of Micro- and Nanobiomedical Engineering Group
Address:IFW Dresden
Helmholtzstraße 20
01069 Dresden
Telephone number:+49-351-4659-489
E-mail:m.medina.sanchez(at)ifw-dresden.de




Micro- and Nanobiomedical Engineering Group (MNBE)


Current members
Name Role Nationality E-mail
Dr. Mariana Medina-Sánchez Group leader Colombian m.medina.sanchez@ifw-dresden.de
Dr. Veronika Magdanz Postdoc German v.magdanz@ifw-dresden.de
Dr. Alexandr Egunov Postdoc Russian a.egunov@ifw-dresden.de
Ms. Sonja Weiz PhD student German s.m.weiz@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Lukas Schwarz PhD student German l.schwarz@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Haifeng Xu PhD student Chinese h.xu@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Azaam Aziz PhD student Pakistani a.aziz@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Raffael Herzer PhD student German r.herzer@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Lukas Niese Undergrad student German l.niese@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Fabian Mehner Undergrad student German f.mehner@ifw-dresden.de
Mr. Christoph Stemmermann Undergrad student German c.stemmermann@ifw-dresden.de
Ms. Franziska Hebenstreit Technician German f.hebenstreit@ifw-dresden.de
Visitors
Name Role Nationality Current affiliation
Pelin Isgor Master student Turkish Ankara University
Vivian Wang Undergrad student American Cambridge University
Alumni
Name Role Nationality Current affiliation
Maria Guix Postdoc Catalan Purdue University

Journal papers:8
Contributions to collected editions/proceedings:3
Invited talks:9

Journal papers

2017

S.S. Kumar, M. Medina-Sanchez, O.G. Schmidt: Autonomously propelled microscavengers for precious metal recovery, Chemical Communications 53 (2017) Nr. 58, S. 8140-8143 URL

M. Medina-Sanchez, O.G. Schmidt: Medical microbots need better imaging and control, Nature 545 (2017) Nr. 7655, S. 406-408 URL

L. Schwarz, M. Medina Sanchez, O.G. Schmidt: Hybrid BioMicromotors, Applied Physics Reviews 4 (2017), S. 31301/1-23 URL

2016

M. Medina-Sanchez, B. Ibarlucea, N. Perez, D.D. Karnaushenko, S.M. Weiz, L. Baraban, G. Cuniberti, O.G. Schmidt: High-Performance Three-Dimensional Tubular Nanomembrane Sensor for DNA Detection, Nano Letters 16 (2016) Nr. 7, S. 4288-4296 URL

M. Medina-Sanchez, L. Schwarz, A.K. Meyer, F. Hebenstreit, O.G. Schmidt: Cellular Cargo Delivery: Toward Assisted Fertilization by Sperm-Carrying Micromotors, Nano Letters 16 (2016) Nr. 1, S. 555-561 URL

S. Kumar Srivastava, M. Medina-Sanchez, B. Koch, O.G. Schmidt: Medibots: Dual-Action Biogenic Microdaggers for Single-Cell Surgery and Drug Release, Advanced Materials 28 (2016) Nr. 5, S. 832-837 URL

2015

G. Lin, D. Makarov, M. Medina-Sanchez, M. Guix, L. Baraban, G. Cuniberti, O.G. Schmidt: Magnetofluidic platform for multidimensional magnetic and optical barcoding of droplets, Lab on a Chip 15 (2015), S. 216-224 URL

V. Magdanz, M. Medina-Sanchez, Y. Chen, M. Guix, O.G. Schmidt: How to Improve Spermbot Performance, Advanced Functional Materials 25 (2015) Nr. 18, S. 2763-2770 URL

Contributions to collected editions/proceedings

2017

M. Medina-Sanchez, V. Magdanz, L. Schwarz, H. Xu, O.G. Schmidt: Spermbots: Concept and Applications, 6th International Conference, Living Machines 2017, Stanford, CA/ USA, 26.-28.7.17, Proceedings: Biomimetic and Biohybrid Systems, in: Living Machines: Conference on Biomimetic and Biohybrid Systems. Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS); volume 10384, 579-588 (2017) URL

2016

M. Medina-Sanchez, M. Guix, S. Harazim, L. Schwarz, O.G. Schmidt: Rapid 3D printing of complex polymeric tubular catalytic micromotors, International Conference on Manipulation, Automation and Robotics at Small Scales (MARSS), Paris/ France, 8.-22.7.16, in: International Conference on Manipulation, Automation and Robotics at Small Scales (MARSS), 1-6 (2016) URL

L. Schwarz, M. Medina-Sanchez, O.G. Schmidt: Easily scalable high speed magnetic micropropellers, International Conference on Manipulation, Automation and Robotics at Small Scales (MARSS), Paris/ France, 18.-22.7.16, in: International Conference on Manipulation, Automation and Robotics at Small Scales (MARSS), Paris, 1-4 (2016) URL

Invited talks

2017

M. Medina Sanchez: Spermbots for assisted fertilization and drug delivery, Workshop "Brainstorm on Assisted Reproduction Techniques (ART)", Colombian Fertility and Sterility Center Bogota/ Colombia, 1.-2.6.17 (2017)

2016

M. Medina-Sanchez: 3D printed micromotors, International Conference on Manipulation, Automation and Robotics at Small Scales, Paris/ France, 18.-22.7.16 (2016)

M. Medina-Sanchez: Sperm-Carrying micromotors for new assisted reproduction techniques, Technical Video Conference on Micro and Nanotechnologies, IEEE Colombia and Javeriana University, Bogotá/ Colombia, 18.8.16 (2016)

M. Medina-Sanchez: Miniaturized ultrasensitive biosensors, Mini-Course, Science Week, EAN University, Bogotá/ Colombia, 25.8.16 (2016)

M. Medina-Sanchez: Micromotors for biomedical and environmental applications, Mini-Course, Science Week, EAN University, Bogotá/ Colombia, 26.8.16 (2016)

M. Medina-Sanchez: On-chip and off-chip miniaturized platforms for biomedicine, Science Week, EAN University, Bogotá/ Colombia, 27.8.16 (2016)

M. Medina-Sanchez: Bio-hybrid micromotors: Assisted fertilization, Seminar, Andes University, Bogotá/ Colombia, 29.8.16 (2016)

M. Medina-Sanchez: Sperm-robots: Rethinking the assisted fertilization, Seminar, Colombian Fertility and Sterility Center, Bogotá/ Colombia, 2.9.16 (2016)

M. Medina Sanchez: SPERMBOTS: Micromotors for assisting sperm cells with motion deficiencies, 2nd Congress on Robotics and Neuroscience (CRONE 2016), Valparaiso/ Chile, 29.10.16 (2016)