Welcome to the IFW Dresden


  • The 2016 EPS CMD Europhysics Prize is awarded to P. Böni, A.N. Bogdanov, C. Pfleiderer, A. Rosch and A. Vishwanath for the theoretical prediction, the experimental discovery and the theoretical analysis of a magnetic skyrmion phase in MnSi, a new state of matter
  • Project SOMAK launched - new technologies for magnetic air conditioning (News article)
  • IFW authors won the MSC Impact Editor's Choice Award of Materials Science Engineering C with their paper on biocompatible Ti-based metallic glasses
  • New Nature article on novel magnetic behavior on the surface of a specialized material that holds promise for smaller, more efficient devices and other advanced technology (press release of RUB)
  • Leibniz Year 2016: Die beste der möglichen Welten