technician working in a glovebox

Junior Research Groups at IFW

IFW promotes the early independency of excellent young researchers. Junior research groups are funded by ERC, DFG, Leibniz and own IFW ressources.

BMBF Nachwuchswettbewerb NanoMatFutur
GreenDots: Umweltfreundliche Nanokristall-Materialien für Optoelektronische Anwendungen
Head: Dr. Fabian Paulus

Leibniz Junior Research Group
HELICAL: 2D Heterostructures for Fermionic and Bosonic Topological Phase
Head: Dr. Louis Veyrat

ERC Consolidator Grant
MATTER "MAcroscopic quantum transport maTERials by nanoparticle processing"
Head: Dr. Gabi Schierning

ERC Starting Grant
„Micro-GIFT“ – Microrobotic Gamete/Zygote IntraFallopian Transfer
Head: Dr. Mariana Medina-Sánchez

Junior Professorship with TU Dresden
Exploratory Synthesis of Quantum Materials
Head: Jun.-Prof. Dr. Anna Isaeva

Temp. Professorship with TU Bergakademie Freiberg
Materials functionalization
Head: Prof. Dr. Julia Hufenbach

Emmy Noether Research Group
Nano-Optical Spectroscopy and Microscopy of Quantum Matter
Head: Dr. Aliaksei Charnukha

Leibniz Junior Research Group
Computational methods for correlated materials
Head: Dr. Oleg Janson

Joint IFW-BESSY Junior Research Group
Functional quantum materials
Head: Dr. Alexander Fedorov

IFW Junior Research Group
Theory of topological phases of matter
Head: Dr. Cosma Fulga

ERC Starting Grant
Nanoscale Materials: Revealing Electromagnetic and Deformation Fields, Chemical Composition and Quantum States at Atomic Resolution - ATOM
2017 – 2021
Head: Dr. Axel Lubk

ERC Consolidator Grant
Electronic Order, Magnetism, and Unconventional Superconductivity probed in Real-Space
Head: Dr. Christian Hess

ERC Consolidator Grant
Surface-grafted metallofullerene molecular magnets with controllable alignment of magnetic moments
Head: Dr. Alexey Popov  

Expired Junior Groups

Leibniz Junior Research Group
Compliant Magnetosensory Systems: Enabling magnetic functionalities for e-skins, soft robots and healthcare
Head: n.n.

ERC Starting Grant
Elementary quantum dot networks enabled by on-chip nano-optomechanical systems - QD-NOMS
2017 – 2020
Head: Prof. Dr. Fei Ding